top of page
  • Bran's Sims

Be Strong My Love


The next afternoon the Grim would come and take my dad. Before he went he spoke softly to mom, "Be strong my love, my journey has reached the end." Before she could react he stood up, walked around the couch and collapsed on the ground. They were over at Noel's house visiting and making sure Lindsey was all set. In his will he had asked not to plead his death, but to let him go. He had a full and happy life.

Death is truly an ominous figure and his arrival was quick and brief. He reaped dad's soul quickly. turned to leave and nodded. The family spent the next few weeks in tears. It seemed the pain of his passing was burning though our own souls and our eyes stung from the tears that fell. During this time my mom had aged into an elder. Since living with us she has taught Aicha so much about gardening. She asked that this tradition be passed down and hoped the the park would in time hold all types of perfect plants.

We welcomed in our 3rd child Cedric and with all of the chaos and sadness have just really been living in the moment. Raising our kids, going to work and repeating the process. One night my mom came out and gave me a great big hug and thanked me for taking care of her.

Of course mom, I know it has been hard on you since dad passed away. We knew that the best place for you to be was with your garden. I know you feel him there and I know Lindsey is doing fine with Noel. Speaking of Noel, she just told me that her fiance left and called off the engagement. She seems to be handling it OK, though I know her heart is broken. She said it was high time it ended anyway. They lost that spark long ago and it always felt as though she had to jump through hoops to make her happy.

When mom is not working in her garden at home, you will find her teaching the younger generations at the park how to master their garden skills. She is also still working only a few nights a week at the restaurant training her replacement for when she retires.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page